Down with the Bug.

Blogging while ill may be a bad combination (feelin’ a little loopy in the head). Came down bad with the bug today. That said, there’s not much in my tank to share. But maybe that’s when we should share…

This week a friend asked Caleb how I was doing…his answer: “not amazing…”

 

HA! I love that he is honest… and that he tells me.

 

Since then he asks me how I am doing, either sensing or straight up saying “you seem down.” I am fine if he doesn’t ask. I feel like I am holding it all together, powering through it all. And then he throws that one in there. I tear up every time.

I don’t know why, for certain. I could probably be praying more, in scripture longer, and thoughts more focused on things above. But one thing I do know– I miss my friends. The ones who know me… who I don’t have to explain myself to. The ones who I know how to read. The ones who know me enough, trust me enough, and who I trust enough, to be totally blunt-honest with–have pure unfiltered conversation with. The ones who call me out when that unfiltered convo is off. Who tell me I need to get over it or do something different. Or the ones who meet me where I am and celebrate with excitement over the smallest of things. I miss those ladies. 

 

I don’t like that everything is new. It’s a good and gentle new. We are finding great places and people. But I like some of that old stuff.

 

So, ya… Caleb is right. I’m not doing AMAzing. I know I miss my friends. I know that Jesus is good and present and faithful and strong. I know this time is going to be essential for Caleb and I… this time in Omaha. But that doesn’t mean I don’t love and miss what was.

 

Thankful for some upcoming visits: one from my parents and then the following weekend from a friend interviewing at Creighton Med School! Yahoo!

But for now, we will probably have a slow, quite weekend re-cooping (and prepping… Caleb has a big exam Monday).

 

I have been wanting to watch Enchanted– the disney CD playing at school has me hooked. Any great movie suggestions? Either in theater or out. Love action filled drama, and never turn down a good laugh.

 

2 thoughts on “Down with the Bug.

  1. Oh, Elli…I am not sure how I missed reading this one, but girl…I hear you. I am coming out of that place in some ways and so stuck in it in others. I will try to email you soon! But none the less know that I hear your heart…and i am lifting you up in prayer. Jesus will strengthen us together! God has called you by name and led you to the place you are…He will provide for your needs. Love you, lady!

  2. Philippians 4:19 “And my God will meet all your needs according to his glorious riches in Christ Jesus.”
    Psalm 29:11 “The Lord gives strength to his people; the Lord blesses his people with peace.”
    Philippians 4:12 “I have learned to be content in every situation.”
    Genesis 28:15, Isaiah 41:10, Psalm 27:13-14(*), Ephesians 3:16-19

Leave a Reply

