moving that makes us.

I had an I-hate-Nebraska moment this weekend. It really was just a moment–okay a couple hours– and it wasn’t even that I hate it. I am mostly really happy, thankful, and excited (sometimes I just don’t think about where I live, or don’t live).  I’m all of those things because this is our adventure– me and Caleb. Ours.

That’s how family gets made. Not by ceremonies or certificates, and not by parties and celebrations. Family gets made when you decide to hold hands and sit shoulder to shoulder when it seems like the sky is falling. Family gets made when the world becomes strange and disorienting, and the only face you recognize is his. Family gets made when the future obscures itself like a solar eclipse, and in the intervening darkness, you decide that no matter what happens in the night, you’ll face it as one.

Cold Tangerines, Shauna Niequist

And that’s probably why I am so thankful, maybe even most thankful for those I-hate-Nebraska moments, because those are what are making us family.

4 thoughts on “moving that makes us.

  1. I hadn’t heard this quote before but I love it! I am in the process of writing a letter to a friend to be shared on the day of her bridal shower and I now think I will probably include this quote. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Ellie, I can so relate to this adventure. I truly love my husband and our family. I love that we are making a new life and am excited to walk together with Him. I am so grateful and blessed by Rogers’ love for both of us but often my spirit gets heavy without friends and family near. I also struggle with the constant color of gray in our everyday and every burst of sun is always camouflaged by a film of clouds. Most days are a heavy film with rain heavy down and chill the air. (you know how very much I love the sun and heat) I can’t even open window without freezing and I often have headaches from the cold because I am tightening my muscles subconsciously. I do enjoy that the air is fresh and am grateful for the farm lands that I drive thru to the store and back because the tulips fields are all around our town. There are always moments and things to be thankful for so keep on giving thanks and enjoy your time building family.
    Just letting you all this so you know that others can relate to the separation and changes in our lives.
    Your friends
    Dena and Beau

Leave a Reply

