the epidural.

This deserves a post all of its own.

I went into labor/delivery with an open mind. I was planning to go as long as I could with out pain relief. Stuff is never what you expect, and I think that goes especially for bringing a baby into the world. You gotta be ready for the curve balls.

That said, I ended up getting one. Reasons why I think it was one of the best decisions of the night…

1. Any future children of ours can thank the epidural. Pre-epidural I had decided I was never doing this again. People kept asking me, mid labor, if I was excited. I didn’t say it out loud, but, “No! No I’m not excited. I am only 5 cm dilated… I have 5 more cm to go and then this baby has to actually come out! The pain has only just begun. So no, I’m not excited.”

2. The moment I got the epidural, I was overwhelmed with joy at the thought of meeting my son. I was water works at any thought of it. For that alone, the epidural was worth it. The joy of anticipating meeting my child.

3. I got to sleep. After an early morning and long day, I was tired. I had lost my appetite earlier in the evening, thrown up throughout labor, and needed rest. By the time we were ready to push, I was as rested as I could be and ready to go. I think it was a healthier and happier option for all parties involved.

4. I had a partial episiotomy because he came so fast [nothing had time to stretch] and he was under duress [which we learned was because of the cord wrapped around his neck] so he needed to get out. That said, I’m so glad I didn’t feel any of the repair. I got to snuggle with my son as I was stitched up, none the wiser.

I said it then, and I will say it again, thank you God for the epidural.

2 thoughts on “the epidural.

  1. Epidurals are MAGIC! I wish I’d had them — so glad my daughter Brooke did. She absolutely loved her birth experiences! So happy for you and Caleb to have little Simon added to your family. What a gift!

Leave a Reply

